Park Bench Tales and other writings

Thoughts and writings reflecting the poet within and the activist

The Well

Leave a comment

The Well

The bucket was lowered then slowly raised

This time the bucket seemed to be lighter

I fastened the handle firmly and retrieved

The source of my inspiration so I believed

This was where so many ideas were conceived

I turned the bucket over and then my heart sank

The bucket was empty just like my thought tank

Where were the words the bucket should be filled

Had they fallen on retrieval and been spilled

I lowered again more in hope than belief

It still came back empty Maybe there was a thief

I sat on the ground by the well in my grief

The well of inspiration had finally run dry

All that was left was the blank page

Not even a drop of ink for my quill

How can I assemble the words that might thrill

To flirt with the women that I love overseas

To assemble the phrases to tickle and tease

To write for the pleasures they demand to please

All I can do is to dredge the pond of quotes

Concerned that in reality it is pond weed that floats

The sun on the oil slick deceives like a rainbow

When the fire burns out there is only a glow

Copyright: David Hopcroft April 2024

Author: davidjhopcroft

Former learning centre manager at a state college in Florida now living in England and enjoying the wonderful scenery close to the Pennines and the Lake District

Leave a comment