Park Bench Tales and other writings

Thoughts and writings reflecting the poet within and the activist

A child’s accusation

Leave a comment

A child’s accusation

I saw her curse him said the child in excitement

She’s a real witch and that’s what she can do

His imagination now began to work

I seen her curse a man who then went lame

Then she cursed a woman who lost her child

Terrible curses they were in spite and hate

He looked around at the attention he was getting

Warming to his task as he continued

I seen her at night with her cat on the broom

She cursed two sheep and they both fell down dead

I even saw her turn a rabbit into a toad

I seen her cursing I know she’s a real witch

The judge looked at him straight in the eye

Swear to me lad that you are telling the truth

The child looked back still full of excitement

I swear Your Honour it is the gospel truth

I seen all these things with my own two eyes

The judge turned to the lady who stood in the dock

The witness says all this Now what say you

The woman laughed You believe a child of only six years

But her laughter was soon to turn to tears

Prejudice and ignorance soon removed her hope

As she swung like a doll at the end of a rope

Copyright: David Hopcroft April 2024

Author: davidjhopcroft

Former learning centre manager at a state college in Florida now living in England and enjoying the wonderful scenery close to the Pennines and the Lake District

Leave a comment